AUGUSTA David DALIA Gediminas Auris Julija JUSTAS



AUGUSTA JUSIONYTĖ is a violinist and a founding member of the Lithuanian based string ensemble NICO (the New Ideas Chamber Orchestra). Swedish magazine ‘’Blekinge läns tidning’’ described her solo performance as ‘’a very impressive and world class’’ (E. Norden, 2016). Augusta was studying with professor Boris Kuschnir at University of Music and Performing Arts Graz (Austria) and with prof. Helmut Zehetmair Mozarteum University of Salzburg (Austria).


In 2012 Augusta Jusionytė debuted at Graz Philharmonic, where she was introduced by Austrian violinist Lidia Baich. In 2013, at 20th International Johannes Brahms Chamber Music Competition she received a special Special Jury Prize for the outstanding performance of contemporary composition (G. Gelgotas “Never Ignore the Cosmic Ocean”, together with the pianist Eglė Andrejevaitė).


Augusta Jusionytė puts special emphasis on the performance of chamber music. An avid chamber musician she has collaborated with acclaimed musicians: violinists Kristine Balanas, Vilhelmas Čepinskis, trumpetist Ole Edward Antonsen, cellist Vytautas Sondeckis, pianist Per Lundberg.


Major part of A. Jusionytė’s concert activity consists of performances with New Ideas Chamber Orchestra (NICO) under the direction of composer Gediminas Gelgotas. NICO is a string ensemble that has developed a new concept of performing; the musicians play all compositions by heart and also integrate minimalistic body movements into their live performances, thus creating a unique concept, which could be called „visualized music”. In 2015, with NICO she made a debut at the prestigious Gewandhaus concert hall in Leipzig. With the group A. Jusionytė has performed at numerous other prestigious venues like London’s St Martin-in-the-Fields and appeared live for Classic FM, Roundhouse and Institute of Contemporary Arts (London), 21er Haus – The Museum of Contemporary Art (Vienna), as well as such high-profile as festivals as the Usedom Music Festival (Germany), Festspillene i Elverum (Norway), Vilnius Festival (Lithuania), Sacrum Non Profanum (Poland) and made recordings at the legendary Metropolis Studios in London and Paramount Studios in Los Angeles.


As a soloist and concertmaster she performed with NICO Europe, Asia and United States. Since 2017 A. Jusionytė is also a principal concertmaster of Baltic Sea Philharmonic orchestra (artistic director and conductor Kristjan Järvi).


Jusionytė was born in 1986 in Vilnius. In 2005 she graduated from the National M. K. Čiurlionis Art School, violin class of teacher – expert B. Vasiliauskaitė – Šmidtienė. In 2011 she earned a master’s degree at the Lithuanian Academy of Music, LMTA (Professor Ingrida Armonaitė violin class). Since 2001 A. Jusionytė has received numerous awards in several international competitions.




  • J.S. Bach – Air on a G string
    • Partita No.1 in B minor, BWV 1002
    • Partita No.2 in D minor, BWV 1004
    • Partita No.3 in E major, BWV 1006
    • Chaconne (also a version for two violins (arr. Gediminas Gelgotas) with Dalia Simaška: Video Teaser)
  • V. Barkauskas – Partita for violin solo
  • K. Penderecki – Cadenza for violin solo
  • F. Kreisler – Recitative and Scherzo

Chamber music:

  • L.van Beethoven
    • Violin Sonata No.5, F major, op.24 “Frühling”
    • Violin Sonata No.7, C minor, op. 30, No. 2
  • J. Brahms
    • Violin Sonata No.1, Op.78
    • Violin Sonata No.3, Op.108
  • G. Bottesini – Gran Duo for Violin and double bass
  • E.Grieg – Violin Sonata No.2, Op.13
  • A. Dvorak – Romantische Stüke Op.75
  • C. Franck – Violin Sonata in A major
  • K. Szymanowski – Violin Sonata in D minor, Op.9
  • D. Shostakovich – 10 Preludes from Op.34
  • S. Prokofiev
    • Violin Sonata No.1, F minor, Op.80
    • Five melodies for Violin and Piano Op.35
    • Sonata for two Violins Op.56
  • A. Honegger – Violin Sonata No.2
  • J. Corigliano – Violin Sonata
  • G. Gelgotas – „Three Four ¾“
  • G. Gelgotas – „Never Ignore the Cosmic Ocean“ for Violin and Piano (Audio ; Video Teaser)

Pieces (with Orchestra or Piano):

  • F. Kreisler – Liebesleid, Liebesfreud
  • H. Weniawski – Scherzo Tarantelle
  • C. Saint–Saens
    • Havanaise
    • Etude en forme de Valse
  • J. Massenet – Meditation
  • M. de Falla – Spanish dance from „La vida breve“
  • M. Ravel – Valses nobles et Sentimentales
  • A. Pärt
    • Fratres
    • Spiegel im spiegel
  • M. Castelnuovo-Tedesco – Concert Transkription „Figaro“ from Rossini „The barber of Seville“

Violin Concertos:

  • A.Vivaldi – The Four Seasons
  • F. Mendelssohn-Bartholdy – Violin Concerto E minor, Op.64
  • H. Vieuxtemps – Violin Concerto No.5, A minor, Op.37
  • H. Weniawski – Fantasia on Themes from Gounod‘s „Faust“
  • P. Tchaikovsky – Violin Concerto D major, Op.35
  • E. Chausson – Poeme Op.25
  • J. Sibelius – Violin Concerto D minor, Op. 47
  • S.Prokofiev – Violin Concerto No.1 D major, Op. 19


New Ideas Chamber Orchestra NICO



NICO Artistic director

Gediminas GELGOTAS

Administrator | All enquiries

Tel.: +370 682 33 809
+44 741 389 7479